If you give a girl flowers she will have sex with you………=O

http://virtualgirlsucf.blogspot.com/2012/02/i-probably-shouldnt-be-surprised.html

http://jezebel.com/5881895/watch-telafloras-super-sexist-super-bowl-ad

So I was glancing at the online blog that I’m following and this particular Superbowl commercial caught my eye. Now I don’t have cable and I didn’t watch the Superbowl (I wouldn’t have, even if I had cable), but anyways although both men and women watch the Superbowl, men are the majority. This commercial was obviously geared toward men and they definitely picked a good time to air it.

Adriana Lima Super Bowl Ad – Teleflora 2012
Instead of going into details about the video, I’m just going to say how I feel about it. I dont dislike the commercial, but I do dislike the message. I was reading the comments and viewers were saying F the feminist bullshit, these women are jealous of her, yada, yada. I thought the woman was very beautiful and he accent WAS awesome, but the message Telaflora is trying to convey “grinds my gears”

To be honest If my boyfriend gave me flowers, chocolate, took me out to dinner, all that good stuff, I would probably have sex with him at the end of the night. That said, hes my boyfriend and it was gonna happen anyway, not because he gave me some dinky flowers, its Valentines Day, its romantic, its routine lol. If it was EXPECTED because I was given gifts, think again Mr. (I hope that makes sense)

The ending statement was “give and you shall receive.” This is basically telling guys “hey if you want to screw that girl you’ve been trying to get with, buy her some flowers.” This is putting pressure on women to give it up when they don’t want to so they can feel like they’re loved. The message is putting this idea in mens heads that women are objects and to get them to do what you want, buy them shit. Welp, there you go America.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kate
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 21:39:56

    Yikes. This reminds me of the “nice guys who aren’t” issue that was brought up on the class blog last semester (http://icedteaandlemoncake.wordpress.com/2011/04/04/feminsim-101-nice-guy-syndrome/), where basically men *perceive* themselves to be ‘nice’ by giving only because they expect something in return. And then complain when women call them out on their bullshit.
    (Also, your post makes total sense)

    Reply

Leave a comment