Girls growing up too fast

http://www.andersoncooper.com/episodes/are-little-girls-growing-up-too-fast/

http://virtualgirlsucf.blogspot.com

I recently discovered a new blog that’s similar to the others I chose and I think I may like this one better. I came across this blog titled “Are girls growing up too fast?” and this was an interview done by Anderson Cooper on his show. He basically had the moms from Toddlers and Tiaras on his show and getting to the bottom of why they’re dressing their 3 yr olds in 30 yr old woman’s clothing. The little girls are dressed like biker girls, oversexualized, and exploited in these pageants. The show also talked about thong underwear in a children’s store and 11 yr olds getting bikini waxes.

This reminds me somewhat of what we discussed in class about when, where and how young women create this image of themselves and what they identify themselves as. We see girls as young as 3 dressing like strippers and then wonder why young women dress provocative to get attention. If this is practiced at a young age and parents are enforcing the behavior, this will continue on because they will think it is okay. Our society is so fucked up that these moms think that its okay for they TODDLERS to look like a grown ass woman. Sex sells and the focus group is getting younger and younger. How is it that the people who put thongs and push-up bra bikinis in children’s stores think this is okay and what crazy people are out here buying this merchandise to keep this shit on the shelves?

I also have a problem with the show Dance Moms. First its make me cringe when I glance at an episode and the little black girl is the only one wearing bright colors or animal print. Anyways, from my experience as a dancer, tighter clothes were used for better body movement but they covered the body (abdomen, butt, thighs). Why are these little girls half naked??!!! Why are they wearing sports bras to practice, they’re 7. This makes me so mad. My boyfriend felt so uncomfortable, that he got up and went into the other room until I changed the channel. Why would you want your daughter on stage dancing in hot pants, booty short, and bra? I hate to blunt, but its giving these pedo’s easy access. Nice parenting.

Leave a comment